Senior Awards Assembly 2017

May 30th, 2017 | News, News 2017

The Padua Franciscan community celebrated its outstanding students during the Senior Awards Assembly on Friday, May 26, 2017. About 82% of the Class of 2017 has been offered one or more non-need-based scholarships amounting to over $17 million. These scholarships testify to the quality and value of a Padua Franciscan education.

The Class of 2017′s valedictorian is Hanna Ross (4.861 GPA). She is a graduate of St. Columbkille School. The salutatorian is Danielle Rosales (4.860 GPA). She is a graduate of St. Charles Borromeo School.

In keeping with Padua tradition, each year the Padua faculty has the honor of selecting one senior young man and woman who best represent the ideals of Padua Franciscan High School. The awards of Mr. and Miss Paduan are given to the seniors who exemplify the finest characteristics of the ideal Padua man and woman. All facets of personality are considered in the selection for this honor including Christian values, Franciscan compassion, academic dedication, strong character, superior leadership qualities, and concerned citizenship.

The following students were nominated for Mr. Paduan: Kristian Abood, Jared Fishburn, Brad Hall, John Heinzerling, and Donovan Rivera. The Mr. Paduan 2017 award went to Jared Fishburn.

The following students were nominated for Miss Paduan: Maria Ambrose, Eleanore Craider, Danielle Rosales, Gina Talerico, and Lynsey Wallace. The Miss Paduan 2017 award went to Gina Talerico.

Unique to Padua’s athletic department is the coveted Mr. and Miss Bruin awards. The athletic department and coaches select the seniors who most deserve the honor of the best athlete at Padua. The qualities on which the athletes are evaluated are their athletic skills, high school athletic achievements, participation, coachability, sportsmanship, leadership, academics, and school involvement.

The following students were nominated for Mr. Bruin: Pete Abraham, Andrew Clemente, Jacob Creadon, Ben Jones, Alex Ludwick, Nick Pillin, Nick Pullar, and Joe Onorato. The Mr. Bruin 2017 award went to Alex Ludwick.

The following students were nominated for Miss Bruin: Alainna Conroy, Julia Giordano, Alyssa Medaglia, Courtney Morris, Elena Rauhe, Sydney Szafarski, and Lynsey Wallace. The Miss Bruin 2017 award went to Elena Rauhe.

The Phi Beta Kappa Award is meant to recognize a student who exemplifies outstanding scholarship, shows academic initiative, and embodies total achievement. The 2017 Phi Beta Kappa Award went to Gina Talerico.

Congratulations to all of our seniors on their many accomplishments! May God bless all of them as they begin the next chapter of their lives.